• Smart Campus

    Workshops Smart City

    Know-How for Cities and Communities

Smart Academy

Cities must already take advantage of the opportunities offered by digitalization today to be successful in the future as well. Digital transformation and the Internet of Things offer many challenges and opportunities to improve the quality of life for the population in terms of mobility, participation, transparency, education, resource efficiency, climate protection, city development and other aspects. Good examples of digital cities already exist today, regardless of their geographical location or size. The workshops are intended to support cities and municipalities in digitalization by know-how-transfer from experts.

Our Workshops

Workshop 1

Smart City – Fundamentals of a Digital City

The aim of this 1-day workshop is to understand the fundamentals of digitalization and the effects of digital transformation on cities, to gain an overview of current developments in digital technologies, the Internet of Things and open data platforms, and to develop concrete ideas for innovative projects based on various use cases:

  • Introduction and overview about digital cities
  • Mega trends, Smart City Charta, action fields, Open Government Data
  • Current developments of digital technologies
  • Urban communication networks, sensor systems and the Internet of Things (IoT)
  • Cloud Computing, virtualization, container, microservices, cluster management
  • Database systems, Big Data, real-time data processing, Smart Data Analytics
  • IT security, data protection and privacy, open data platforms
  • Intelligent infrastructures, digital business models and platform economy
  • Group work for brainstorming
  • Discussion, evaluation of proposals and formulation of concrete project ideas

The workshop can be conducted either with participants from different institutions or as in-house training.

Workshop 2

FIWARE – Fundamentals of an Open Data Platform

The aim of this 2-day workshop is to get to know the architecture and technology of the open data platform FIWARE, to gain an overview of the modules available as Open Source and their fields of application, functionality and interfaces, and to develop simple prototypes for concrete project ideas based on a local FIWARE installation:

  • Introduction and overview about open data platforms
  • Architecture, technology and Generic Enabler of the FIWARE platform
  • Open data interface with FIWARE New Generation Service Interface (NGSI)
  • Data model and context management with FIWARE Context Broker
  • Communication and device management with FIWARE IoT Agents
  • Security and user management with FIWARE Keyrock and Wilma
  • IT-Sicherheit, Datenschutz, offene Datenplattformen
  • Data analytics and visualization with FIWARE Wirecloud, Cosmos and Knowlege
  • Development of Smart City applications based on the FIWARE platform
  • Group work for prototype development
  • Discussion, evaluation of prototypes and formulation of concrete projects

The workshop can be conducted either with participants from different institutions or as in-house training.

Our Instructor

Prof. Dr. Michael Prange

is an entrepreneur and consultant for digital transformation and sustainable development and Professor of Data Science with a focus on Big Data Technologies, Cloud Computing and the Internet of Things. He brings more than 30 years of experience from complex IT projects at international corporations, medium-sized companies and public institutions. His consulting and applied research topics include intelligent infrastructures, digital technologies, innovative business models and open data platforms with a focus on the Smart City and the Green Economy.

Björn Schwarze

Entrepreneur and Smart City Expert focussing on Digital Infrastructures. He organizes the Smart City working group of DiWiSH which orchestrates users, vendors, and service providers building, economical and political feasible concepts. DiWiSH stands for cluster of the Digital Economy of Schleswig Holstein. He realizes Smart City projects as Managing Director of ADDIX Internet Services GmbH. One project is to deliver free wifi to all inhabitants of the state of Schleswig-Holstein - #SH_WLAN.

Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account

• Smart Campus

    Workshops Smart City

    Wissentransfer für Kommunen und Städte durch unsere Experten

Smart Academy

Städte müssen bereits heute die Chancen der Digitalisierung nutzen, um auch in Zukunft erfolgreich zu sein. Die Digitale Transformation und das Internet der Dinge bieten vielfältige Herausforderungen und Chancen, die Lebensqualität für die Bevölkerung in Bezug auf Mobilität, Teilhabe, Transparenz, Bildung, Ressourceneffizienz, Klimaschutz, Quartiersentwicklung und weitere Aspekte zu erhöhen. Gute Beispiele für digitale Städte sind bereits heute vorhanden, unabhängig von deren geografischen Lage oder deren Größe. Die Workshops sollen Städte und Kommunen bei der Digitalisierung durch Know-how-Transfer von Experten unterstützen.

Unser Workshops

Workshop 1

Smart City - Grundlagen einer digitalen Stadt

Ziel dieses 1-tägigen Workshops ist, die Grundlagen der Digitalisierung und die Auswirkungen der Digitalen Transformation auf Städte zu verstehen, einen Überblick über die aktuellen Entwicklungen digitaler Technologien, das Internet der Dinge und offene Datenplattformen zu gewinnen, sowie anhand von verschiedenen Anwendungsfällen konkrete Ideen für innovative Projekte zu entwickeln:

  • Einführung und Überblick über digitale Städte
  • Megatrends, Smart City Charta, Handlungsfelder, Open Government Data
  • Aktuelle Entwicklungen digitaler Technologien
  • Urbane Kommunikationsnetzwerke, Sensorsysteme und das Internet der Dinge (IoT)
  • Cloud Computing, Virtualisierung, Container, Microservices, Cluster Management
  • Datenbanksysteme, Big Data, Echtzeitdatenverarbeitung, Smart Data Analytics
  • IT-Sicherheit, Datenschutz, offene Datenplattformen
  • Intelligente Infrastrukturen, digitale Geschäftsmodelle und Plattform-Ökonomie
  • Gruppenarbeit zur Ideenfindung
  • Diskussion, Bewertung der Vorschläge und Formulierung konkreter Projektideen

Der Workshop kann entweder mit Teilnehmern aus unterschiedlichen Institutionen oder als Inhouse-Schulung durchgeführt werden.

Workshop 2

FIWARE – Grundlagen einer offenen Datenplattform

Ziel dieses 2-tägigen Workshops ist, die Architektur und Technologie der offenen Datenplattform FIWARE kennenzulernen, einen Überblick über die als Open Source verfügbaren Module und ihre Einsatzgebiete, Funktionalität und Schnittstellen zu gewinnen, sowie basierend auf einer lokalen FIWARE-Installation einfache Prototypen für konkrete Projektideen zu entwickeln:

  • Einführung und Überblick über offene Datenplattformen
  • Architektur, Technologie und Generic Enabler der FIWARE Plattform
  • Offene Datenschnittstelle mit dem FIWARE New Generation Service Interface (NGSI)
  • Datenmodell und Kontextmanagement mit dem FIWARE Context Broker
  • Kommunikation und Geräteverwaltung mit den FIWARE IoT Agents
  • Sicherheit und Benutzerverwaltung mit FIWARE Keyrock und Wilma
  • IT-Sicherheit, Datenschutz, offene Datenplattformen
  • Datenanalytik und Visualisierung mit FIWARE Wirecloud, Cosmos und Knowage
  • Entwicklung von Smart City Anwendungen basierend auf der FIWARE Plattform
  • Gruppenarbeit zur Prototypentwicklung
  • Diskussion, Bewertung der Prototypen und Formulierung konkreter Projektvorhaben

Der Workshop kann entweder mit Teilnehmern aus unterschiedlichen Institutionen oder als Inhouse-Schulung durchgeführt werden.

Unsere Experten

Prof. Dr. Michael Prange

ist Unternehmer und Berater für digitale Transformation und nachhaltige Entwicklung sowie Professor für Data Science mit Schwerpunkt Big Data Technologies, Cloud Computing und Internet der Dinge. Er bringt mehr als 30 Jahre Erfahrung aus komplexen IT-Projekten bei internationalen Konzernen, mittelständischen Unternehmen und öffentlichen Institutionen mit. Zu seinen Themen in der Beratung und der angewandten Forschung gehören intelligente Infrastrukturen, digitale Technologien, innovative Geschäftsmodelle und offene Datenplattformen mit Fokus auf die Smart City und die Green Economy.

Björn Schwarze

ist Unternehmer und Experte für digitale Infrastrukturen. Als Leiter der Fachgruppe Smart City der Digitalen Wirtschaft Schleswig-Holsteins organisiert er die Vernetzung der Anbieter, User und Dienstleister für gesamtheitliche Entwicklungskonzepte, die darauf abzielen, Städte effizienter, technologisch fortschrittlicher, grüner und sozial inklusiver zu gestalten. Diese Konzepte beinhalten technische, wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Innovationen. Als Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der ADDIX Internet Services GmbH stellt er seit 2016 das #SH_WLAN zur Verfügung, das den unbeschränkten kostenfreien Zugang zum Internet in Schleswig-Holstein an über 2500 Punkten ermöglicht.

Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account